Transforming Time: Sarah Rothenberg, piano

Event details

  • Monday | March 3 | 7:30 PM
  • Tuesday | March 4 | 7:30 PM
  • The Menil Collection
  • 1533 Sul Ross St, Houston, TX 77006
  • 713-524-5050 |

DACAMERA subscribers will have priority access; tickets on sale in early 2025

Schoenberg: Sechs kleine Klavierstücke, Op. 19 (Six Little Piano Pieces)
Tyshawn Sorey: New Work (Houston premiere)

Sarah Rothenberg, piano
Tyshawn Sorey, guest composer

The 2024 Pulitzer Prize-winning composer returns to Houston with a new work composed for Sarah Rothenberg.

Tyshawn Sorey’s major new piano work receives its Houston premiere. Sorey and Rothenberg’s deep musical relationship grew out of their work together on the DACAMERA-Rothko Chapel commission of Monochromatic Light (Afterlife), and it was during their performances at New York’s Park Avenue Armory that Sorey first conceived of this piece. The intensity and hyper-sensitivity of Sorey’s music corresponds to Rothenberg’s pianism, and this ambitious solo work probes emotional depths and upends our sense of time. Rothenberg opens the program with Arnold Schoenberg’s six little piano pieces, Expressionist miniatures that contain worlds. For this unique recital, the Menil Collection’s foyer is transformed into an intimate in-the-round performance space.

“power and introspection” – The New York Times on Sarah Rothenberg

“among the most formidable denizens of the in-between zone…An extraordinary talent who can see across the entire musical landscape.” — The New Yorker on Tyshawn Sorey

Recommended Concerts