Ruckus with Emi Ferguson, flute | Fly the Coop

Houston debut!

Fly the Coop: Bach Sonatas and Preludes

Sonata in C Major, BWV 1033
Sonata in E Minor, BWV 1034
Sonata in E Major, BWV 1035

Emi Ferguson, flute; Elliot Figg, harpsichord; Clay Zeller-Townson, bassoon; Arash Noori, lute; Priscilla Herreid, oboe, recorder; Doug Balliett, baroque bass and violone; Rachell Ellen Wong, violin; Paul Holmes Morton, cello, banjo; Shirley Hunt, viola da gamba, cello;  Anthony Albrecht, cello

Ruckus is a baroque ensemble with a fresh, visceral approach to early music, a “shapeshifting” band comprising some of today’s leading soloists of Baroque repertoire. Their collaboration with acclaimed English-American flutist Emi Ferguson is a joyous, kaleidoscopic romp through some of Bach’s most playful and transcendent works, with new arrangements of Bach’s Flute Sonatas and Keyboard Preludes  that explode Bach’s bass lines into a rainbow of textures and colors, continually shifting like light over the landscape as Ferguson’s flute lines dance above.

“a fizzing, daring display of personality and imagination” — The New York Times

“panache, and the jubilant, virtuosic verve of a bebop-Baroque jam session” — Boston Musical Intelligencer

Subscribe now! Get the best seats and save off single ticket prices. Included in the Full Season and Chamber Music Series. Or include it in a Build Your Own.