Horszowski Trio

Fauré – Trio in D Minor, Op. 120
Joan Tower – For Daniel
Schubert – Trio No. 2 in E-flat major, Op. 100, D. 929

 Horszowski Trio (Jesse Mills, violin; Raman Ramakrishnan, cello; Rieko Aizawa, piano)

Read the program notes

Two-time Grammy-nominated violinist Jesse Mills joins with the founding cellist of the prize-winning Daedalus Quartet and acclaimed pianist Rieko Aizawa in this celebrated ensemble. Named for legendary pianist and Curtis Institute of Music teacher Mieczysław Horszowski, the Trio takes inspiration from Horszowski’s musicianship, integrity and humanity.

In their Houston debut they perform Fauré’s gracefully lyrical Trio, American composer Joan Tower’s elegiac For Daniel, and Schubert’s beloved Trio No. 2 in E-flat major.

“Destined for great things.” – The New Yorker on the Horszowski Trio


“Played as if he’d just received [the music] from some distant, vast and magnificent reach of the cosmos.” – The Washington Post on Jesse Mills


“Understatedly elegant and smooth tone.” – The Boston Globe on Raman Ramakrishnan


“A pianist of extraordinary refinement and vitality.” – Cleveland Plain Dealer on Rieko Aizawa