Meta4 Quartet

Event details

  • Monday | April 21 | 7:30 PM
  • The Menil Collection
  • 1533 Sul Ross St, Houston, TX 77006
  • 713-524-5050 |

Included in the
Full Season Series
the DACAMERA at the Menil Series
or include in a Build Your Own
Subscribe Now

Saariaho: Terra Memoria
Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 4 in D Major, Op. 83
Ravel: String Quartet in F Major

Antti Tikkanen, violin; Minna Pensola, violin; Atte Kilpeläinen, viola; Tomas Djupsjöbacka, cello

Meta4 returns to DACAMERA with a dynamic program of vivid musical contrasts. DACAMERA’s dear friend, the great Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho (1952-2023), is remembered with a performance of her second quartet, Terra Memoria; composed “for those departed,” the work is deeply moving in its hypnotic exploration of memory, loss and transformation. Shostakovich’s Quartet No. 4 is a riveting response to the tragedies of the Second World War. The work was withheld from public performance until after Stalin’s death — the composer’s searing personal message is encoded in this powerful musical work.  The program concludes with Ravel’s colorful quartet– eagerly embraced by listeners since its first performance in 1904, promising a dazzling and brilliant finale to the evening.

“the unity of voicing was astonishing, as if the musicians formed a single instrument… blisteringly intense.” — San Francisco Classical Voice

Recommended Concerts