Telegraph Quartet: New Worlds

Event details

  • Tuesday | December 10 | 7:30 PM
  • The Menil Collection
  • 1533 Sul Ross St, Houston, TX 77006
  • 713-524-5050 |

Included in the
Full Season Series
the DACAMERA at the Menil Series
or include in a Build Your Own
Subscribe Now

Beethoven: String Quartet in E Flat Major, Op. 74, “Harp”
Weinberg: String Quartet No. 6 in E Minor, Op. 35
Schoenberg: String No. 2 in F Sharp Minor, with soprano solo, Op. 10

Telegraph Quartet (Eric Chin, violin; Joseph Maile, violin; Pei-Ling Lin, viola; Jeremiah Shaw, cello); Lauren Snouffer, soprano

Described by the San Francisco Chronicle as “powerfully adept… with a combination of brilliance and subtlety,” the Telegraph Quartet was awarded the prestigious 2016 Walter W. Naumburg Chamber Music Award and the Grand Prize at the 2014 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition. Three great works created in turbulent times:  Beethoven’s “Harp” quartet, composed during a French attack on Vienna, is actually one of his most melodious works.  Schoenberg’s second quartet was revolutionary, marking a new era in 20th-century music and introducing a vocal line in the last two movements, ushering in “the air of another planet.” Mieczeslaw Weinberg, a close friend and contemporary of Dmitri Shostakovich, was a prolific composer whose works are only now gaining renown. His sixth quartet, banned in Stalin’s USSR and never performed during Weinberg’s lifetime, has been championed by the Telegraph Quartet.

Recommended Concerts