Sonia Wieder-Atherton/Sarah Rothenberg: Blow Up, My City

Sonia Wieder-Atherton, cello; Sarah Rothenberg, piano
Blow Up, My City

J’ai faim j’ai froid (I’m hungry I’m cold) (Chantal Akerman)
Federico Mompou: Prelude for piano left hand
Mieczeslaw Weinberg: Preludes for cello
Saute ma ville (Blow Up, My City) (Chantal Akerman)
Galina Ustvolskaya: Grand Duo for cello and piano
Sonia Wieder-Atherton, cello; Sarah Rothenberg, piano

Paris-based cellist Sonia Wieder-Atherton was present in much of the great avant-garde filmmaker Chantal Akerman’s work since the 1980s, performing on numerous soundtracks and as a protagonist in Rue Mallet-Stevens. Now, Wieder-Atherton and pianist Sarah Rothenberg pay tribute to the filmmaker in this new project, with Wieder-Atherton adding live solo cello to Blow Up, My City.

“a leading light of experimental European cinema” – The Guardian on Chantal Akerman

“a pianist of heart, intellect and fabulous technical resources” – Fanfare on Sarah Rothenberg

“From the baroque to the contemporary, whenever Sonia Wieder-Atherton takes on a challenge it is like diving body and soul into the ocean of captive sounds we call music.” – Le Monde

“Sonia Wieder-Atherton has the boldness to risk intimacy, brave chaos, her performance is shamelessly unbridled, brutal, animal, in the finest and most powerful sense of the term.” – Toute la

To purchase tickets for both sets on Friday night for just $30 click here